• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

RhinoGroup
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 10, 2020 9:22:53 AM(UTC)
RhinoGroup

Rank: Member

Joined: 7/31/2013(UTC)
Posts: 13

We've tried several methods of getting this to work using shipping rules, but it just won't behave.

What we need:

No cost freight option for a category of products (We've also tried isolating by a vendor name).
UPS Real-time for everything else.

Our current methods:

Methods

Freight rule (this works):

Freight rule

UPS rule ( Does NOT work):

UPS rule

Can you provide some direction in how we should set this up?
Aaron
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 11, 2020 8:27:49 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,330
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 153 time(s) in 148 post(s)
It looks like the problem is that you're trying to have different shipping methods combine, but that's not how it works. If a package in the order matches the "Hide This Method" rule then that entire method is hidden. So, from your screenshots, it looks like an order that contains items that match both your "Oversize" package criteria and not, both the "Freight - Cost TBD" and "UPS Ground" methods will be hidden and not show a rate.

Conceptually what you need is a generic 'ground' method that sets a $0 rate for oversized packages and pulls rates from your wrapped "UPS - Domestic" method for every other package. The rates for all packages in your order are summed to create a single shipping method rate shown to the customer.
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
RhinoGroup
#3 Posted : Monday, June 22, 2020 1:39:06 PM(UTC)
RhinoGroup

Rank: Member

Joined: 7/31/2013(UTC)
Posts: 13

Aaron,

I understand what you're saying and that does make sense. I'll re-work it based on your response.

Can you answer a question I've been wondering for awhile? When using the rules to filter by an items category, what is the correct value to filter by? The Bvin? Category Name? Which value on the category is the comparison being made?

Thanks!
Aaron
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2020 4:38:05 PM(UTC)
Aaron

Rank: Administration

Joined: 4/2/2004(UTC)
Posts: 2,330
United States
Location: Hummelstown, PA

Thanks: 6 times
Was thanked: 153 time(s) in 148 post(s)
The Category name is the field that is checked. Since a product can belong to any number of categories you should always use a 'contains' check on the name. If there is a possibility of multiple matches you should add a carrot to the beginning and dollar sign at the end of the string (e.g. "^My Category Name$") to ensure a match on the entire Category name and not just a partial match.
Aaron Sherrick
BV Commerce
Toll-free 888-665-8637 - Int'l +1 717-220-0012
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.

©2020 Develisys. All rights reserved.
  • Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012