• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

bigheadrob
#1 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2004 7:25:29 PM(UTC)
bigheadrob

I would like to hear from anyone that uses the Order Export for QuickBooks. Ive tried it and am currently trying to work it into my process. Currently, I use another accounting software so Im not really good with QuickBooks yet but it seems very similar to what I use. I dont invoice most customers. I do get 90% of my orders are via credit card, and 10% are by purchase order (where I ship the order, then email an invoice). So, just wondering who's using Order Exporter and how they like/use it, and if they had to adapt it to their business model and/or process.
rmiller
#2 Posted : Tuesday, November 30, 2004 10:30:38 PM(UTC)
rmiller

I've been using it for some time now. I have to say it's actually a huge time saver!

I really only have one issue with it, which is probably not an issue for most people. Especially if they are brand new and setting up Quick Books from scratch. In Quick Books you can create categories to manage your items. Order Export does not recognize any items within a category. It only recognizes items in the root (outside of categories). I beleive Marcus said that he would look into this for a future patch. I imagine this wont come out until after most of the SP2 issues have been resolved.

Also, your Product Name in Quick Books needs to be an exact match to what the Product Name or SKU is on the website it is pulling the data from. I beleive Quick Books truncates characters after 31, so if you have any long product names this may be an issue. If you have long product names, you just need to make sure the different characters are recognized in the 1st part of the 31 characters. If I'm not making sense, just let me know ;).