• Toll-free  888-665-8637
  • International  +1 717-220-0012
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

phillika
#1 Posted : Monday, January 4, 2010 5:23:50 PM(UTC)
phillika

I am a relative amateur at ASP.NET and I'm wondering if there a way to structure a URL for a product with choices such that when entered into the browser, the browser goes directly to product as if the user had selected the respective option?

For instance a product URL is (which is tied to the parent product) is: http://www.mystore.com/Products/Product-Number-One__SKU1234.aspx. When the user selects a product choice (e.g. black, white, etc.) the parent SKU still shows in the URL, but the SKU on the product page and the image changes to the specific child SKU that the user selected.

So, then is there a way to send a URL like: http://www.mystore.com/Products/Product-Number-One__SKU1234.aspx?choice=bvinforwhitechoice where the product with the white choice options already selected shows up?

Can anyone tell me how the URL should be formatted? I'm guessing that it's the parent URL, a question mark, then the variables.

Thanks!

Ken
Kman
#2 Posted : Monday, January 4, 2010 6:28:17 PM(UTC)
Kman

Never seen this before Ken so I am guessing not out of the box. Given the Ajax used it may be a challenge to accomplish. I was thinking of maybe using JQuery to read the url option parameter and set the proper selection. Given the wide range of attribute configurations though I am not sure of a direct approach.
Regards,
Kim(Kman) Rossey
www.toocoolwebs.com
BVSoftware - MerchantTribe Programming/Design, Database Programming and Business Applications
[email protected]
Marcus
#3 Posted : Wednesday, January 6, 2010 7:41:56 PM(UTC)
Marcus